April Fool?

Has April fools now been cancelled? Seems like the constant disclaimers and being worried about being cancelled has made some of the magic disappear

Hey Must Readers! Had a good week?

This week we have 14 must read stories for you to enjoy and 5 recommended tools for you to check out to help you out.

I know the first quarter of 2021 has felt incredibly challenging, if you are like me, I know I need a bit of a break. So enjoy the longer Easter weekend (if it’s a thing where you live). Why not take a leaf from baby yoda…

The Child D GIF by Disney+

Must Read Articles Of The Week

  1. Are you planning the post-pandemic return to the office? Here is a framework to help guide you into the right area’s - Read the full story 🏢

  2. What people are missing about the actual hybrid office 🤦‍♀️ - Read the full story

  3. Why Ambiverts make great leaders 👩‍💼 A lot is made about timid introverts and loud extroverts as leaders but ambiverts are definitely the modern day leader - Read the full story

  4. Why recording and celebrating micro-moments (and micro-events) are so important 💯 - Read the full story

  5. Have we made progress at actually understanding when someone is lying? Potentially we are making progress at understanding the signs and science behind lying but does a question to ponder: does this mean this is a smart thing to progress? - Read the full story

  6. Is hiking is a solution to reconnecting with friends and family - Read the full story 🚶‍♀️

  7. Record: 1.2billion downloads for mental wellness apps 📲 This shows how important apps and the emphasis we rightly applied to our wellness & alongside the spike in investment helps massively, hopefully we will see this continue in 2021 - Read the report

  8. Many companies suggest it isn’t possible to compete against Amazon, here are 6 ways competitors are fighting back and winning 🙌 - Read the full story

  9. How NASA is being inspired by origami I love seeing stories like this, how traditions & complexities matched by with the finest of details improve other industries - Watch the video 🚀

  10. Fancy betting bitcoin on someone’s success? 🧐 A deep-dive into the latest coolest social media network (bitclout) is built on crypto and betting on influencers - Read the full story

  11. Would you IM to order food? 💬 Why we are likely to see more messaging style food ordering, not just contactless and convenient, but the closer to normal behaviour the better for the customer and the restaurant - Read the full story

  12. The secret behind the most popular food channel on YouTube…The food 🍔If you are anything like me you spend more time on food TV channels & then on YouTube, this is a good read about the importance of quality & finding their home on reddit - Read the full story

  13. How the rise of the platforms has seen everyone and their dog become a personal brand 👄 & The why we are likely to see this continue by smart brands - Read the full story

  14. The 5 Timeless growth videos 🥼 Are you in Growth, Marketing Or Product? These 5 videos are must watch videos to help you understand human behaviours, why being deliberate and understanding broader culture will help break markets. Watch the videos 

Two Announcements

🗣 The Future Of Work Free Event: As a reminder, I’ll be keynoting on the future of work and the workplace on June 10th, it is free- register here

👨‍💼 I Am Hiring: I am a consulting CMO and I need a brilliant Head of Marketing (Digital) & SEO Exec who are 🇬🇧 based & for a remote-first marketplace.

Five Tools Recommended:

This week I offer up five tools I have been using recently and would highly recommend

  1. Around.co - video and audio tools, built to be used around working on documents or presentations with an emphasis on delivery and the campfire mode is brilliant

  2. Circles for Zoom - Ever wanted a better zoom experience and remove the default view and be able to multi-task? Circles is for you

  3. Apollo app - Reddit app and web experience is pretty average, apollo is a much better app for true Redditors and people who dip in and out of it like me

  4. Discord - I have really enjoyed using different chat and voice apps with different clients think slack but for communities, discord has been a blessing for me the last year

  5. Notion - I have used notion for a few years and love how it can be used for multiple use cases, I share my must-listen podcasts via notion but also use it for my CMO clients, with mentees and coaching clients and for my knowledge centre.

Quote Of The Week:

“The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain — Dolly Parton

Thanks for reading Must Reads today, have a great weekend.

Danny Denhard Let’s connect on Twitter Or LinkedIn

The Must Reads newsletter is your weekly brainfood filled with Must Read Articles. It takes me a couple of hours every week to find, quality check & create your favourite weekly newsletter. About My Work: I am on a mission to fix the broken world of work with Focus. Happily email me for consultancy, I offer business advisory, executive mentorship and coaching.

PS Lastly, Listen To The Podcast: Recently I spoke with Ash Taylor on his podcast hitting the wall, we spoke about how to be a better leader, how to improve company culture and why connections are so important. 🎧 Give it a listen 🎧